Accepting Nominations: Lifetime Achievement Award

MCDHH will be hosting its annual awards ceremony at the Missouri Interpreters Conference banquet on Saturday, October 2, 2021. We are currently accepting nominations of outstanding individuals to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. Past award recipients have included Deaf and Hard of Hearing individuals, interpreters, educators, and service providers. The guidelines for the award are below; please submit your nominations by August 30 to



  1. Any Missouri resident may nominate a person to receive MCDHH’s Lifetime Achievement Award
  2. To nominate, submit the person’s name, current contact information, and a letter explaining why you believe they deserve this award; if available, the person’s resume and a recent headshot are also helpful
  3. MCDHH will present the Lifetime Achievement Award to one or more individuals on a periodic basis—typically at the Missouri Interpreters Conference
  4. The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual to honor outstanding service over a significant portion of the person’s life to Missourians who are Deaf or Hard of Hearing
  5. No person shall be given the Lifetime Achievement Award more than once


Past Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

2020: NA

2019: Craig Jacobs, Anette Nitko, William Walker

2018: April Dunlap, Jeffrey Dunlap, Ernest Garrett, III

2017: Geneva Shearburn

2016: Paul Blicharz, Kimberly Schaeffer

2015: Glorianna Pack

2014: NA

2013: Michael Boyd

2012: Ellen Foshay

2011: Sister Maureen Laurent

2010: Tom Bastean

2009: Ella Eakins, Paul Hrabovsky

2008: Larry Hoard

2007: Pat Adams, Kevin Babin, Nancy Dietrich, Leslie Hall, Antonina Wilson

2006: C. William Blank, Dinna Dickrader, Allan Ensor II, Sister Laura Grube, Denise Kerns, Charles Luetje

2005: Kenneth Alexander, Judith Bastean, Robert Foster, William Sheldon, Norma Vickers, Ula Williams

2004: Alta Bradshaw, Daniel Bradshaw, Harold Hankins, Marthada Reed, Mary Stodden

2003: Denise Rogers, Rev. Arthur Steidmann, Lawrence Yates

2002: Joseph Carrico, Jean Galloway, Georgetta Graybill, Charlotte Rose Hamilton, Richard Reed

2001: Sister Arline Eveld, Mary Leubke, Franky “Tuffy” Morris, Peter Ripley, Marjorie Yates